massing articulationn index 怎么计算

I'm a Senior Lecturer at the
London and the Assistant Director of the . My main area of expertise is the philosophy of science
I also have active research interests in metaphysics, philosophy of language, philosophy of logic, philosophy of
artificial intelligence and meta-philosophy.
Publications:
, Philosophical Studies,
2015, vol. 172(3): 563-585.
Theoria: An International Journal for Theory, History and
Foundations of Science, 2015, vol. 30(1): 97-114.
- In a well-known passage in the Investigations, Wittgenstein makes the following claim: “There is one thing of which one can state neither that it is 1 metre long, nor that it is not 1 metre long, and that is the standard metre in Paris.” (2009, p.
29e) [original emphasis]. The standard meter, Wittgenstein reasons, is an ‘instrument’ of our language. Qua an instrument, it provides a means through which length can be represented, though it is not itself representable. It is thus illegitimate, he claims, to ask whether the standard meter is a meter long. I begin this talk by showing how Wittgenstein’s concerns become immaterial in the face of modern measurement theory. That’s because standards nowadays are set by definitions, not samples. I then proceed to explore several advantages of the definitional approach, focusing, among other things, on the stability it offers over the old sample-centric approach. (To be presented at the , July 24
- This talk proposes the design of a type of experiment whose aim is to determine whether
differences in the content of expert vs. layperson observational reports, where these do indeed exist,
can be removed under controlled conditions. Clearly, if such differences could be removed at least
sometimes, theory-ladenness of this sort would pose less of a threat to inter-subjective agreement
on, and ultimately to the objectivity of, observational reports. We conjecture that such differences